Fold it!

I’m a day late posting about this, but the latest Quirky Crafts challenge has gone live! This time the prompt is to use more than one fold in whatever you make… you could make a jack-in-the-box, a pleated skirt, a fancy card, a fan… check out the original post for more ideas and inspiration.

In my last Quirky Crafts post I mentioned one of the ways I try to put my own mark on the digital stamps we’re given to work with and today I’m going to show you another way I do this…

Use them out of context.

What I mean is, use pictures of things in a way they weren’t intended for. For example, you could use a couple of whimsical bikes from The Cutting Cafe to create patterned elements for a mandala:

DSCN1847

Do you see what I mean? Although you can tell what they are, I haven’t used them in a way that says ‘bike’.

I also folded some pieces of textured paper, and added some dimensional paint to make the mandala (quite literally) pop off the page, but now I’m too worried about my petals to close the book!

I’m constantly making these quirky little mandalas, but I don’t think I’ve shared any with you before… comments? I usually avoid using the primary colours together, but I actually quite like how this one looks…

So have you been creating anything fabulous over the weekend? Leave me a link below and I’ll come and check it out!

D x

One thought on “Fold it!

Leave a Reply

