Honouring Your Feelings: A Life Book Page

I’m back to share another Life Book page with you today. This one was inspired by one of Tam’s latest lessons ‘Honouring Your Feelings’. What do you think?

IMG_20130627_112639_144-1

 

I have to say, I really enjoyed the process. You can’t really tell by this photo but the page is covered in lots and lots of layers of collage, paint, gesso and other messy stuff. It was a lot of fun to do, but I don’t love the page I’ve ended up with, and I can tell you why. It’s the squirrel. I love that my girl has this surly squirrely bodyguard to protect her but the thing is… I hate orange. I keep thinking it’s growing on me… but  it’s not. I considered just changing the colour, but I like that she ties in with the orange collaged feathers you see peeping through, and the orangey glow from the red hair. I also feel like there’s something a bit off about my girl’s face, but I can’t put my finger on it…

I know I’m probably far too critical of my own artwork, but I can be a perfectionist sometimes. I’m trying to be more free and uncaring when it comes to art, but it isn’t easy. That’s the main reason I haven’t just painted over the parts of this page that I don’t love… I’m learning to live with the imperfections!

Have a great weekend!

D x

P.S. Sorry about the slightly blurry photo, the light is not my friend this morning!

5 thoughts on “Honouring Your Feelings: A Life Book Page

  1. Glad you’re learning to live with the ‘imperfections’ because those are the things that give a piece life and character. We are always far too critical of our own work. The fact that you enjoyed the process is so much more important. Keep going! And it’s lovely, by the way 🙂

  2. One of the reasons we share our work is because other people are never as hard on us as we are ourselves. This is a great piece full of feelings and learning and looks lovely. I hope you continue to enjoy the process and create more art.

Leave a Reply

