{Recent Reads} Underwhelmed

I admit that sometimes I expect far too much from the books I read. Maybe I’m just a bit too invested in the whole reading thing… I always think that if I’m taking the time out of my life to read a book, then the least it can do is be half decent. I get really frustrated when I feel like I’ve wasted my reading time. I’ve had a few of those recently… and these are the culprits:

All My Friends are Superheroes by Andrew Kaufman

I was so disappointed by this book. I was promised something heart-warming and breaking. Instead I found it quite… nothingy. There were some potentially very amusing characters, but they just weren’t given the page space they deserved. I mean, it didn’t even take me a whole bus journey to get through…. there was just no time to bond!

Girl in the Polka Dot Dress by Beryl Bainbridge

Oh. My. Goodness. There was simply nothing compelling about this book. The one slight bright side is that it helped me tick of the ‘something to wear’ category of my whimsical reading challenge list. The was an illusion of slightly increasing suspense, but then the story just stopped. The characters were all pretty crap too. On the whole just not good.

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

The first thing I need to say is THERE WERE NO RUBY SLIPPERS. But I think the main reason I found this book so underwhelming was because I’ve always adored the film, and I always expect books to be so much more spectacular than their film adaptations. This was just drab in comparison, I really wanted it to be so much more!

The Wildwater Walking Club by Claire Cook

This was another whimsical reading challenge read (for the category of ‘hobby you don’t have’), and all I can really say is that nothing has ever made me feel quite so terrified about reaching middle age. It was just bleak. And the worst part was… it wasn’t even meant to be. The plot in a nutshell? Three women in their forties bond over laundry, lavender and country walks. Yes, really.

So are there any books that haven’t hit the spot for you recently? Please let me know what I should be avoiding!

D x

4 thoughts on “{Recent Reads} Underwhelmed

  1. I can’t seem to get on with books that win prizes. Man Bookers, Pulitzers – I’ve tried two recently and just could not get into them at all, the emphasis seems to be on the language instead of the story. Every time I do it I think … hang in there, it has to get better, it won A PRIZE.. but it never does.

  2. Pingback: Readarama Update | Doing it the Open Way

  3. Pingback: Readarama Update | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

