Windows of the Soul

Has anyone else noticed how sweet the word ‘Friday’ sounds? I can’t wait to get out of the office and enjoy a little bit of this heat wave… locked in a room with lots of big windows but no air con is not bringing out the best of me!

Today I wanted to share another art journal page inspired by the Life Book course I’m taken. This page was a product of a bonus lesson from Kelly Hoernig (of the Game Board Page), called ‘Eyes Are The Windows Of The Soul’.

It’s hard to tell from the photo, but the eyeball is actually made of teeny tiny scraps of paper, collaged together and painted to add extra detail.

IMG_20130628_113830_158-1

I feel like this page is a little… naked. I’m not really a minimal journaller, I’m more of a ‘keep piling crap on there until there is literally no room for more’ kind of artist. Having said that, I enjoyed trying something a little bit new. I like that the eye really stands out (especially as it took so long to do… I think I’d be a bit miffed if it blended into the background!), and I like that I got to showcase my new favourite stencil (which is actually just a piece of lace paper).

I seem to have accumulated quite a few Life Book pages that I haven’t got round to blogging about…  I’ve also done a bunch of spreads inspired by 21 Secrets (which is on sale right now – check out the link for more info!), and made a little journal filled with juicy stuff as part of Doodle Camp 2013, so expect lots of arty goodness over the next couple of weeks!

D x

 

3 thoughts on “Windows of the Soul

  1. Love the sweet simplicity of this page-and that eye is gorgeous Daire! Try to stay cool.Looking forward to seeing more of your art.

  2. Hi Daire: I am so impressed….that eye is made of papers collaged? You are a miracle!!! Wow. I laughed out loud at the “pile it on and on” – that is hilarious! You did a wonderful job of this class – I found it SOOOO difficult I finally gave up! 😦 You are busy with all the classes/workshops. I am really looking forward to your new “goodness!” Be sure to pop it my way! Lovies, Samara

Leave a Reply

