Let’s Catch Up

Today Book Chat is back after a short hiatus (wooo!) – for those of you just tuning in, Book Chat is (you’ve guessed it) a chance to chat books, hosted by The Tangerine.

Today’s theme is ‘Let’s Catch Up’, so I’m going to talk about some of the books I’ve been reading recently. As you know, this summer I’m attempting all the books from the Richard and Judy Book Club list. I’ve already reviewed Tigers in Red Weather, This is How it Ends and The Sea Sisters, but now I have a few more to update you on…

Close My Eyes – Sophie McKenzie

This novel tells the gripping novel tells the story of a woman who is told one day that the daughter she thought was still-born is actually alive, and her husband was complicit in whatever happened all those years ago. The magic is that it’s never clear if Geniver is crazy, or if she’s been lied to by her husband, or sabotaged by one of the enemies they’ve accumulated; we’re left in the dark until the final chapters, and even after that, the final page is simply chilling. Well worth a read.

Natural Causes – James Oswald

As a crime novel aficionado, I’m always on the look out for a new team of detectives to follow. Natural Causes is Oswald’s debut, and I can only describe it as FAB. After reading the blurb, I was a tad worried that it would be written in a dialect (my biggest pet hate), what with being set in Edinburgh, but fortunately everything was impeccably written and easy to understand. The mystery was baffling, and (unusually for me) I didn’t unravel it by the end; there was a great (potentially supernatural) twist at the end which has really left me eager for Novel #2 of the Inspector McClean series.

The Age of Miracles – Karen Thompson Walker

I knew I wouldn’t enjoy this book… I can’t explain how, I just knew it. I had to renew it twice before I even started it. After reading about a third of it I just gave up for good. I couldn’t empathise with any of the characters; I didn’t find the plot very substantial… it just seemed quite wishy-washy and two-dimensional. Oh well, you can’t love them all… and as reading is my hobby, not my job, I’m determined to only follow through with the novels that I enjoy.

I have four R+J books left (to read before the end of August) : The Light Between Oceans, The Sea Change, The Universe Versus Alex Woods and The Girl Who Fell From the Sky; but as I’m dependent on my local library right now, I don’t know if I’ll be able to get to them all!

So what have you been reading lately? Is there anything you’re hoping to get to soon?

D x

P.S. For a more comprehensive overview of my reading habits, check out Readarama Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3.

8 thoughts on “Let’s Catch Up

  1. Close My Eyes sounds good, and The Universe Versus Alex Woods is also on my ‘to-read’ list. I’m slogging my way through the Game Of Thrones series at the moment (which makes it sound as if I’m not enjoying them – I am, I love them – but they rather take over ones reading life).

  2. Dialect in books drives me up the walls, I feel like I’m going mad trying to read them – The Help got on my nerves in that respect. That first book sounds really good! I need a kick, if you see my reading mojo please send it this way!

  3. Pingback: Best in Books 2013 | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

