Seven Sins of Reading

Yesterday I came across this post on Harley’s blog, and I couldn’t resist having a go at it myself…

GREED: What is your most inexpensive book? What is your most expensive book?

Well assuming we’re not talking about gifts and freebies, my most inexpensive books will be the dozens I’ve picked up in the 4 for £1 bin outside my favourite charity shop! I tend not to spend a lot on books, but my most expensive was probably Doodles Unleashed by Traci Bautista or Journal Fodder 365 by Eric M Scott and David R. Modler. Worth every penny.

WRATH: What author do you have a love/hate relationship with?

Without a doubt it’s JK Rowling. I love, love, love her for the first five Harry Potter books, but hate, hate, hate how underwhelming the last two were.

GLUTTONY: What book have you deliciously devoured over and over with no shame whatsoever?

Summer Sisters by Judy Bloom, The Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine, and Back Home/A Little Love Song by Michelle Magorian to name a few. I’m a big fan of the reread!

SLOTH: What book have you neglected to read due to laziness?

I would have to say Les Miserables. I’m sorry, but it’s just so long! And the title makes me think it’s going to be a bit depressing. Long and grim… not really what I look for in a ‘read for fun’ book!

PRIDE: What book do you most talk about in order to sound like a very intellectual reader?

The good thing about doing an English Lit degree is that you end up reading a lot of things that make you sound way more high brow than you actually are… from Dickens and Bronte to Zola and Chopin.

LUST: What attributes do you find most attractive in male or female characters?

I have to say I’m a big fan of the underdog. If they’re misunderstood and mysterious I can’t resist… behold the cliché!

ENVY: What books would you most like to receive as a gift?

Erm, all books. Is that a trick question? Actually, what I would most love is for someone to give me a series that I can get addicted to. I haven’t been gripped with a series in a good long while…

I love doing random posts like this, especially when I’m easing myself back into blogging! If you fancy playing along, leave me a link below and I’ll come check out your posts!

D x

P.S. I’m feeling quite inspired to do my own set of ‘Seven Sins of Reading’ questions, so stay tuned if you’re interested!

4 thoughts on “Seven Sins of Reading

  1. Pingback: Seven Sins of Reading - plasticrosaries.com |

Leave a Reply

