In Short

If you’re familiar with my reading habits, you’ll have noticed I’m a fan of the epic. I like long novels, and drawn out series… things I can really get invested in. I definitely have a love/hate relationship with novellas and short stories… I find it much harder to ‘bond’ with the characters. Even so, I’ve read quite a few recently:

The Biscuit Witch

This sweet little novella by Deborah Smith tells the story of Tallulah, an amazing baker and single mother on the run from a diabolical ex (and TV chef). She ends up driving across the country to the sleepy Appalachian home town she hasn’t seen for years, into the arms of eccentrics Stars Hollow would be proud of.

Now this little book lasted me one bus journey, I didn’t pause for a second. My only negative is that I wanted it to be longer! Good news though, I’ve heard this is the first in a series… so I have The Pickle Queen to look forward too sometime this month! I’d definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants a lighthearted, fun, refreshing read.

Bones in her Pocket

I’ve definitely made no secret that I love a good crime novel, and Kathy Reichs is one of my absolute faves. This ‘straight to ebook’ novella is a mini Temperance Brennan adventure, so I already knew I’d love the characters. I actually enjoyed the story more than the last full-sized Tempe novel I read (despite the thing with the puppies). It didn’t actually feel too short, even though it was only 71 pages long – there was enough room for proper plot development (including the quintessential red herrings and a smidge of personal backstory). All in all a great, lunch-break-sized read.

Cosmo

You would think that a book of short stories would be a quick one. Oh no. Not Cosmo. This is a long book. And each short story is so completely different they could easily have been written by different people.

The first was probably my favourite, and in my opinion could have been developed into a great full-length novel (about a hugely neurotic beauty pageant contestant). The others were either a bit grim (a teacher with lung cancer committing suicide by locking himself in a small room and chainsmoking) or a bit trippy (Michael McConaughey driving round the desert, naked, and coming across multiple clones of himself).

Although very well written and imaginative, this book didn’t really change my mind about the genre… definitely worth a read if that’s your thing though!

So what do you guys think, do you like short stories?

D x

P.S. A big thank you to NetGalley for providing me with advance reader copies of these books, in exchange for my honest review.

2 thoughts on “In Short

  1. The only set of short stories I really, really enjoyed was “Jazz Age Stories” by F. Scott Fitzgerald. Other than that delightful book, I am not a fan of the short story genre. I can’t pinpoint WHY exactly, but I never feel moved by a story that is told in such a short span of time.

  2. Pingback: Best in Books 2013 | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

