A Small and Quirky World

I’m a couple of days late with this post (bad Daire!), but I just wanted to let you know that the latest Quirky Crafts challenge has gone live. The theme for this challenge is ‘It’s a small, small world’ (as in , the Disney song) so we want to see different places or cultures represented in your crafts.

This is what I came up with:

IMG_20130912_012026_083-1

I started out with a scrap of paper that had been sprayed with ink, and doodled on with a black pen. I snipped it up and glued it to a tag to make a background for the ‘Thanksgiving’ stamp by Paper Pretties. I added a splash of colour and sparkle to the image and background using pencil crayons and gel pens and then got to work on my favourite part… the tassle! I macramed along the tag thread with embroidery floss and added a few plastic beads from my stash… I love it so much, it really took me back to the days of friendship bracelets!

Now that that I’m finished I’ve decided it’s a bookmark to go in Becca (my cousin)’s emergency kit. She’s going away to University and like the mini-mum that I am, I’ve backed her a box of emergency supplies:

Picture to follow when I find my $£^&$*(+ memory card!

[Contains cheese grater, mug, quirky paperweight, a notebook with an owl on, a notebook with foxes on, a box of lemsip, some paracetamol, some plasters, some allergy tablets, a box of cappuccinos, a big bag of doritos, a packet of cookies, a student cook book and now, a fabulously unique bookmark, all in a hand doodled washing up bowl that could double as a sick bucket if necessary!]

Remember, all kinds of crafts are welcome over at QC, from scrapbooking, cross stitch, sculpture, cake decoration, quilting, knitting, card-making, art journalling… for information on how to link up, and a few more design examples, check out the original challenge post. Our three favourite entries will win some great crafty prizes!

D x

3 thoughts on “A Small and Quirky World

  1. I’ve really wanted to get involved with this but time is just not on my side at the moment, looking forward to joining in the future! The bookmark is gorgeous and I love the idea of the emergency kit, you have every base covered!

    • Well you’ll be more than welcome whenever you decide to join in! Remember, each challenge is live for two weeks, so you don’t have to get something done as soon as the new topic is released!

Leave a Reply

