Small Town Girl

It’s wartime America and a girl living in a small but eccentric community watches her sister marry the man she loves, before being thrown into the path of the ‘bad boy’ best man.

I have a slight crush on anything set in the 1940’s, so that was my sole motivation for picking this one. It’s marketed as Christian fiction, which would normally put me off, but in this case the religious aspects were just subtle enough for me to enjoy it.

BeFunky_What_I_Loved.jpg

I loved the random patchwork quilt of family that surrounded Kate… it seemed like one of those houses that just adopts all the unloved strays, which often makes for the best cast of characters.

The story was pure fluff and very predictable, but sometimes you don’t want to be challenged… you just want to enjoy some gentle guilty pleasure reading. I wasn’t gripped, but it was alright.

BeFunky_DSCN1903.jpg

It was a little bit repetitive at times, particularly in the areas when Jay was contemplating his faith, and for me that stopped it from being entirely convincing.

I also think the narrative could have done with a little bit more ‘grit’, I wanted it to tug at my heart-strings more than it did!

BeFunky_Youll_like_it_if.jpg

You enjoyed the prequel, Angel Sister, or feel like reading a way less intense version of The Notebook.

I’d like to thank NetGalley and Revell for providing me with an ARC in exchange for my honest review.

D x

Leave a Reply

