{Non Fic November} The Death of the Novel

BeFunky_IMG_nfnbanner.jpg

It’s only a brief post coming your way today, but I just wanted to talk about one of my FAVOURITE online resources… Librivox. For the uninitiated, Librivox is a free online database of audio books (think Project Gutenberg for the ears). I found this site really handy when studying the Nineteenth Century Novel, as I was able to listen to a few of my set texts when out and about.

When I first embarked on the Non Fic November adventure, I had a little look through Librivox to see if there was anything to take my fancy… and there was! I always knew that the site was filled with novels in the public domain, but during this new exploration I found tons of old articles… perfect for if you don’t have a lot of time to invest!

The one that peaked my interest this time was ‘The Novel is Doomed, Will Harben Thinks‘, first published in the New York Times in 1915. It was hilarious, in an unintentional way. In a nutshell, Will Harben (a novelist) believes that novel-reading is on its way out due to the development of film and cars. You can understand why he might think the cinema would be a threat to the written word, but his main concern seemed to the ‘automobiling’ – he mentioned multiple times that the youth of today would lose the desire to read if they had the power to drive around all the time… magic. So what do you think? Is the novel still doomed?

The original Jack the Ripper articles have also caught my eye – they’re going on my list of things to listen to before the month is out! If you come across anything fabulous be sure to come back and let me know!

D x

Blog Every Day in November badge

One thought on “{Non Fic November} The Death of the Novel

  1. Pingback: {Non Fic November} A Summary | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

